

## **APS Awards & Honors**

The American Peony Society has awarded several types of personal awards, medals, and plaques including the A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal, the American Peony Society Medal, the American Peony Society BOD Service Award, and the Bertrand H. Farr Lifetime Achievement Award; as follows:

Date	Recipient	Award
1929	James Boyd <sup>1</sup>	Bertrand H. Farr Memorial Medal
1950	William F. Christman <sup>2</sup>	American Peony Society Medal
1966	Carl Klehm	Silvia Award (Society of American Florists)
1968	Silvia Saunders	Distinguished Service Medal (Garden Club of America)
1968	John C. Wister	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
1968	Edward Auten, Jr.	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
1972	L.W. Cousins	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
1972	Toichi Itoh	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
1973	E.L. Pehrson	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
1973	William Gratwick	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
1973	Nassos Daphnis	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
1974	Silvia Saunders	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
1975	Marvin Karrels	American Peony Society Medal
1975	Clarence Lienau	American Peony Society Medal
1975	Louis Smirnow	American Peony Society Medal
1975	William Krekler	American Peony Society Medal
1976	Irvin Ewing	American Peony Society Medal
1977	The Charles Klehm and Son Nursery	American Peony Society Medal
1977	Greta M. Kessenich	American Peony Society Medal
1977	Myron D. Bigger	American Peony Society Medal
1981	Louis Smirnow	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
1981	Chris Laning	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
1983	Dr. David L. Reath	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
1984	Don Hollingsworth	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
1989	Roy Klehm	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
2000	Bob Tischler	American Peony Society Award
2003	Bill Seidl	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
2003	Roger Anderson	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
2007	Reiner Jakubowski	American Peony Society BOD Service Award
2011	Irene Tolomeo	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
2011	Donald R. Smith	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
2011	Al and Dot Rogers	Bertrand H. Farr Lifetime Achievement Award
2013	Don Hollingsworth	Bertrand H. Farr Lifetime Achievement Award
2018	Linette Sorrentino	Bertrand H. Farr Lifetime Achievement Award
2021	Kris Jurk	American Peony Society Medal
2021	Tim Stanek	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
2021	Carol Adelman	Bertrand H. Farr Lifetime Achievement Award

See Next page for 2022 Awards to current date.

Date	Recipient	Award
2022	Hans Maschke	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
2022	Harvey Buchite	Bertrand H. Farr Lifetime Achievement Award
2022	Geraldine Kildow	American Peony Society Medal
2023	Franklin & Angela Chow	A.P. Saunders Memorial Medal
2023	Scott Parker	Bertrand H. Farr Lifetime Achievement Award
2023	Leena Liljestrand	American Peony Society Medal
2023	Henry Chotkowski	American Peony Society Medal

- <sup>1</sup> James Boyd awarded for his work editing the 1928 <u>Manual of the Peony</u>.
- <sup>2</sup> William F. Christman awarded for service as Secretary and Bulletin editor from 1923 to 1950.

